Thursday, April 22, 2010

Maine’s Second Congressional District 2010 Congressional Art Contest Winner Announced

Anna Smedley

Today, Congressman Mike Michaud announced that Anna Smedley of Lewiston High School is Maine’s Second Congressional District winner of the 2010 Congressional High School Art Competition.

“The students competing in this art competition always remind me of the tremendous skill and promise among our young adults in Maine,” said Michaud. “I appreciate all those who participated this year and the tremendous role that the Maine Arts Commission played in the competition.”

Each year, thousands of students from around the country enter the Congressional High School Art Competition. One winner is chosen from each congressional district, and their artwork is hung for one year in the U.S. Capitol Building. The winner from each congressional district is eligible for a scholarship to the Savannah College of Art and will be flown to Washington, DC by Southwest Airlines for the official opening of the show in June. The Maine winner and runners-up will be honored at a reception at the Blaine House on May 15th.

“Walking by the artwork in Washington reminds members of Congress and their staff of their states and districts,” said Michaud. “Seeing the artwork as I go to vote or attend meetings in the Capitol Building is always a warm reminder of home.”

Anthony Shostak, Education Curator for the Bates College Museum of Art, and Robyn Holman, Curator of Atrium Art Gallery at the University of Southern Maine, Lewiston-Auburn College, judged the art work submitted for the competition, which was managed by the Maine Arts Commission.

“The jurors were impressed by the self-portraits done from direct observation,” said Shostak and Holman, referring to the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place portraits. “While holding to the traditional format of portraiture, the paintings remained fresh and creative. Each carefully considered composition conveyed a sense of the artist's searching gaze, intense sustained effort, and confident skill in handling paint in a manner appropriate to the academic or expressionist style of the painting. Through the timeless endeavor of self-portraiture, the students reference a venerable art historical tradition that connects them to the greatest artists of all time.”

In addition to the winner, the jury also chose the following runners-up for the Second Congressional District:

•First Runner Up: Matthew McKeown, Oak Hill High School, Self Portrait, oil on canvas (image above center)
•Second Runner Up: Rebecca Spilecki, Lewiston High School, Reflection, oil on canvas (image above)
•Honorable Mentions: Siobhan McCarthy, Bangor High School, Fallen Figure, mixed media; Tristan Herbold, Bangor High School, Cartoonz, mixed media

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Wow! Thank God! the first word i said when i saw the photo of my son Matthew just browsing the news @ wsch6. Thank you & God bless!